42 Comments

Snapchat Security Breach: How To Check If You Were One of the 4.6 Million Accounts Breached

Bad news to start off the new year for the popular photo app Snapchat.

snapchat-2

Earlier today, the site snapchatDB.info, which has since been suspended, allowed users to download information of the over 4 million breached accounts. This included usernames, passwords, as well as phone numbers.

“You are downloading 4.6 million users’ phone number information, along with their usernames. People tend to use the same username around the web so you can use this information to find phone number information associated with Facebook and Twitter accounts, or simply to figure out the phone numbers of people you wish to get in touch with,” was the statement on the website.

In a statement to technology news website TechCrunch the company stated, “Our motivation behind the release was to raise the public awareness around the issue, and also put public pressure on Snapchat to get this exploit fixed. It is understandable that tech startups have limited resources but security and privacy should not be a secondary goal. Security matters as much as user experience does.”

Even though the website is now shut down, this doesn’t mean you’re necessarily safe. With over 4.6 million accounts hacked, there are tools on the internet that Snapchat users should use in order to check if you’re account was hacked. GS Lookup – Snapchat was created by Will Smidlein and Robbie Trencheny to help out users to see if their account was hacked.

SnapChat-Security

Even if you were not hacked, we strongly recommend you change your Snapchat password. As well, this also brings up the issue of not using the same passwords across multiple services, as breaches similar to this can not only exploit your information for your Snapchat account, but as well can allow hackers to gain access to your other accounts as well.

We have reached out to Snapchat for a statement, and will update the article if we receive a statement.

Was your account hacked? Leave us a comment below.

Connect with us on FacebookTwitter & Google+ for more tech content!

About Jordan Yep

Senior Editor and President of Jordan's Tech Stop. From a young age, he has always been fascinated by technology, and enjoys reporting and checking out the latest in the tech world. Jordan has an IT Essentials certification from Cisco, which he received in 2012. Email Jordan at: jyep@jordanstechstop.com

42 comments on “Snapchat Security Breach: How To Check If You Were One of the 4.6 Million Accounts Breached

  1. Simply want to say your article is as astonishing.

    The clearness in your post is just spectacular and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with
    forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable
    work.

    • sure just subscribe to us via email or use rss
      you can also follow us on social media. just search up “jordan’s tech stop” on Facebook, Twitter and Google+.

      thanks for the support!

  2. Hey! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My blog looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to resolve
    this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Cheers!

  3. These are genuinely impressive ideas in concerning blogging.

    You have touched some nice factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  4. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you
    happen to be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will
    come back in the future. I want to encourage one to continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

  5. Howdy! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I needed
    to ask. Does running a well-established blog like yours require a massive amount work?
    I’m completely new to blogging however I do write in my journal everyday.

    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for
    new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    • hi there! running a blog where I post weekly, at least try to, is enjoyable but can be time consuming at times. I suggest if you want to enjoy writing like me, find something you like to write about, and choose a niche. If you want, connect with our website on Facebook, Twitter & Google+ to receive our content, or contact me there

  6. Es eel momento para planear algunos planes para el futuro y
    ser una persona plena. He leido este escrito y si pudiera me gustaria
    proponerte algunas ideas o consejos. Probablemente tu fueras capaz elaborar los futuros ensayos referentes
    a este escrito. Quisiera leer mas cosas en relacion a este tema

  7. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get
    that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a superb job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Opera.
    Exceptional Blog!

  8. I was extremely pleased to find this web site. I need to to thank you for ones time
    for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and i also
    have you book marked to look at new information in your website.

  9. At this time I am going away to do my breakfast, later than having my breakfast coming
    again to read more news.

  10. Hello, this weekend is fastidious for me, for the reason that this point in time i am reading this
    great educational paragraph here at my residence.

  11. I’ve learn several excellent stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking
    for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you set to make the sort of wonderful informative
    site.

  12. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or
    did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. With thanks

  13. Why people still use to read news papers when in this technological world
    all is accessible on web?

  14. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A number of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly
    in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this problem?

  15. This is a great tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise information… Many thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  16. I think that what you posted made a ton of sense.

    But, what about this? what if you added a little information?
    I am not saying your information isn’t solid., but what if
    you added a post title to maybe grab folk’s attention?
    I mean Snapchat Security Breach: How To Check If You Were One of the
    4.6 Million Accounts Breached | Jordan’s Tech Stop is kinda vanilla.

    You could peek at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they write post headlines to
    grab viewers to open the links. You might add a video or a related pic
    or two to grab people interested about everything’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it might bring your website a little bit more interesting.

  17. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into
    starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty
    penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  18. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the
    less. I’ve been using WordPress on a variety of websites for about a year and am worried
    about switching to another platform. I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net.

    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into
    it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  19. I always emailed this web site post page to all my contacts, since if like to read it next my friends will too.

  20. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links
    or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me
    an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  21. I think the admin of this website is genuinely working hard in support of his website, since here every data is quality
    based stuff.

  22. After looking into a handful of the blog articles on your website,
    I seriously appreciate your technique of blogging.
    I saved it to my bookmark site list and will bbe checking back soon.
    Please check out my website as well and let me know what you think.

  23. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from
    PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on a number
    of websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.

    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net.

    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  24. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?

    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good
    results. If you know of any please share. Cheers!

  25. Wonderful items from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff prior to and you’re just too
    fantastic. I really like what you’ve received right here, really like what you are saying and the best way by which you assert it.
    You are making it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay
    it wise. I can’t wait to learn much more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

  26. Hi there everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site,
    and article is genuinely fruitful for me, keep up posting these
    types of posts.

  27. No matter if some one searches for his essentiql
    thing, so he/she wishes to be available hat iin detail, so that thing is maintained overr here.

  28. Hi Dear, are yoou realy visiting this web site on a regular basis, if so thesn you will definitely take nice experience.

  29. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always interesting to read articles from other writers
    and practice something from their sites.

  30. It’s awesome to go to see this website and reading the views of all friends on the topic of this article, while I am
    also keen of getting knowledge.

  31. […] you loved this informative article and you want to receive details concerning youtube converter 3 please visit the […]

  32. whoah this blog is great i love reading your articles. Keep
    up the great work! You already know, a lot of persons
    are looking around for this information, you could help them greatly.

  33. Very good site you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any forums
    that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get advice
    from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thanks a lot!

  34. Hi I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Aol for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say many
    thanks for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but
    I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

  35. helko there and thawnk you for your infirmation – I’ve certainly picked up
    something new from rikght here. I did however expertise severaal
    technical points using this web site, since I experienced to reload
    the web site many times previous to I coyld get
    it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK?
    Not that I aam complaining, but souggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing
    with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and
    can lok out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

  36. Yߋungsters thesе days watch tv for extended hours.

  37. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to
    assist with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords
    but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please
    share. Appreciate it!

  38. “. You need to realize that when the time to meet a person who is crucial in your life comes, you have to be ready.
    .

Want To Discuss? Leave a Comment Below!

