37 Comments

ChargeCard Review: A Brilliant Concept That Fits In Your Wallet

ChargeCard - Main

Nomad’s signature ChargeCard. The Micro-USB version is pictured above.

ChargeCard was a project on Kickstarter last year that gained lots of attention from techies and media. From being a successfully funded Kickstarter project, the ChargeCard is now one of the most innovative accessories I’ve seen today on the market.

ChargeCard - ComparisonThe ChargeCard is meant to fit in your wallet on the go. It is pretty much the size of a normal credit and gift card, and fits straight in your wallet. Nomad sells this product in the 3o-pin connector, lightning connector, as well as Micro-USB options. The device not only charges your phone, but has the ability to charge your iPad, iPod, and Micro-USB tablets.

Connecting your device to charge is really easy, as all you have to do is insert the connector into your device, and plug in the USB to your desired charging device. Nomad says that you can charge your device using your laptop, mobile battery pack, and other various options. I have not tested it using a brick wall charger, but ChargeCard can be used with 3.1 amp chargers for all variants. However, it seems more logical to use the ChargeCard with a laptop or mobile battery pack due to the portability of the device. All versions of the ChargeCard use high speed USB 2.0, not the current USB 3.0.

However, I do have some complaints. One is an issue around build quality. While mine did work for a bit, at the end of my review period, I found my ChargeCard did not work. After a bit of investigation, I found that it was due to the fact that my USB connector was not working anymore. This is due to the fact I did try charging in different ways, and twisting the USB cable isn’t a good idea. Now this problem should only be for Micro-USB, due to the fact lighting cables insert into the phone in 2 different iterations, whereas Micro-USB only can insert one way. So if you are planning on buying the Micro-USB model, be sure not to twist the USB cable too often. Another complaint is that it only comes in one colour. While during the Kickstarter period it was offered in black and white, they only seem to offer the black option at the time of writing the review. I do hope that more colour options come out in the future.

The price of this charger is only $25 direct from the Nomad website. For the price, it’s quite affordable and well worth the money. You can purchase it direct from Nomad with this link.

Overall, this product is quite  innovative. I love the simplicity of the product, yet how useful it is in our everyday lives. However, it does lack some build quality on the USB wires, at least on the Micro-USB version. But for the price, this is well worth the purchase.

Rating: 9/10

Disclaimer: The ChargeCard was sent as a review sample from Nomad

About Jordan Yep

Senior Editor and President of Jordan's Tech Stop. From a young age, he has always been fascinated by technology, and enjoys reporting and checking out the latest in the tech world. Jordan has an IT Essentials certification from Cisco, which he received in 2012. Email Jordan at: jyep@jordanstechstop.com

37 comments on “ChargeCard Review: A Brilliant Concept That Fits In Your Wallet

  1. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform
    you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog soon
    but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  2. What’s up to every one, the contents present at this web page are actually remarkable for people
    knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  3. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the
    post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy
    I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

  4. […] last year, Nomad released their hit product ChargeCard, which gained the attention of others from Kickstarter. After the success of the ChargeCard, […]

  5. Hey there! I’ve been reading your blog for
    some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from
    Porter Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the good job!

  6. Hello there, I believe your web site might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, wonderful blog!

    • Hey there,
      Yeah I’ve heard there are problems with IE, but our site is powered through WordPress.com, so they handle all of browser compatibility.
      Thanks for the heads up, and glad you’re enjoying the blog!

  7. Captcha Support: We have built in captcha solving engine, that will solve the simplest
    captcha types. Check if GSA is blocked by a Firewall
    or Antivirus software. The Wiki main function of the program is
    generating 1,000 of backlinks from authority EDU or GOVWiki
    in automatic way.

  8. Awesome! Its in fact remarkable post, I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this article.

  9. And so i checked the internet history – and things looked
    pretty much just like these people always did before he cleared his / her bookmarks (which usually are back again too) as well as “made a great effort” – what
    gives?! Ended up being this any one-off slip I got seeing the effects connected with?
    Didn’t look like this. Therefore , he was lying in
    my experience if he said having been working. He has getting more
    for it. Probably he did try out for quite a while, but is not any longer.

    Is his relationship using the photos (and folks?!?!?!
    ) on-line more important to him than his relationship regarding his wife and family actually?

  10. Howdy I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Anyways I am
    here now and would just like to say thank you for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the great jo.

  11. Snoop – Buddy is often a free to sign up website where you
    are able to join and hook up along with other members with your area to
    partner up and dig for the truth for each other. Check out my other Webkinz articles for
    further codes. Note to my fellow teachers:
    implement the appropriate mobile phone restrictions during test-time.

  12. Write more, thats alll I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the
    video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting
    videos to your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  13. Having read this I thought it was really enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and
    energy to put this informative article together.

    I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both
    reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  14. Whats up this is somewhat of off topic but I was
    wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or
    if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog
    soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  15. Curs BNR Romania
    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say
    that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your
    blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed
    and I hope you write again soon!

  16. If you are not able to meet the needs of the type of videos you intend to produce then you will need to downgrade the type of video product you are
    marketing. Whether you are a business person or
    just an ordinary Internet user looking for entertainment, online video chat will help discover new opportunities.

    Today it is not nearly as difficult to produce video about your business.

  17. I like the helpful information you provide in
    your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  18. I really like it whenever people come together and share views.

    Great site, stick with it!

  19. Open end or home equity line of credit + it’s a revolving credit score
    loan with adjustable interest rates. You can’t refinance without the proper documentations.
    Furthermore, the circumstances of these financial loans are versatile.

  20. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  21. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  22. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content
    as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  23. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your website offered us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  24. Hello, I desire to subscribe for this wweb site to tske latest updates,
    therefore where can i do it please assist.

  25. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as neatly as with the format for your weblog.
    Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a great blog like this
    one nowadays..

  26. It’s very easy to find out any topic on web as compared to books, as
    I found this paragraph at this site.

  27. These are actually great ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some nice things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  28. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i came
    to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things
    to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  29. Hi there, I log on to your blogs like every week.
    Your writing style is awesome, keep up the good work!

  30. They were more then happy to give me back my car without me paying one cent for towing my car.
    The real property owner shall only appoint duly
    authorized agents which have a direct connection to the property (i.
    Barnett from holding their clients at “gunpoint, yelling obscenities at them and kicking one of the women.

  31. Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, superb blog!

  32. It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before finish I am
    reading this impressive post to increase my knowledge.

  33. Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design. Cheers

  34. Toner cartridges for Brother Laser printer of that organization. As you find recycling cartridges company you need to investigate the
    things properly as well as vigilantly. I’m hoping that with subsequent use this will be less of
    a problem.

  35. If you add in the performance chip tuning from Superchips you increase
    that to 211 bhp. 3 liter engine and a manual 5 speed transmission offer superior performance without breaking the
    bank. Standard with this model is traction control electronic stability control and forward-collision alert.

Want To Discuss? Leave a Comment Below!

