6 Comments

The iSkin Aura: Simple, Well Done and Gets the Job Done

The iSkin Aura, pictured side-by-side with the iPhone 5, is an innovative iPhone 5 case by Canadian company iSkin
(Credit: Kevin Li – Jordan’s Tech Stop)

iSkin, a wonderful company with remarkable designs for cases has done it again. The new iPhone 5 has been released and iSkin has gone to work with the new cases. Our review sample, the Aura iPhone case, seems like a very basic good looking skin for the iPhone 5. The feel of the back material feels like the aluminum on other Apple products, such as the Macbook Laptops. I am a fan of iPhone cases and always expect something decent, and the Aura is something decent and I recommend it to people out there.

iSkin’s new iPhone cases include the iSkin Aura, the iSkin Solo, the iSkin Vibes, and the iSkin Claro. Each of their iPhone cases have their own distinct designs, and each is quite unique. The Aura case is the next edition of their popular Aura lineup for the iPhone, and the iPad.

Credit: iSkin

iSkin describes the Aura as sporting a distinctive, subtle and pervasive look. It does have a sophisticated design, and the styling is quite unique from other iPhone cases. The Aura has a slim design, and a side bumper for enhanced grip. It also has an integrated volume button for protection, and it works quite well in my opinion. The case comes in 6 distinct colours, which include: green/black, blue/white, black, pink/white, gold/white, and orange/white. Our review sample came in the black/white version, one of the best looking ones in my opinion.

The crack during our drop test

The case is quite well done, but there are some issues I would want to point out. My biggest complaint is that the case doesn’t absorb drop impacts very well. I did a drop test and when I dropped it once, the top where the camera became cracked because it was too thin. For future references I think it is better to pay more attention on the thin parts. Also it doesn’t have the layers to survive many drops, which makes the case more on the “just for looks” side. It will not bring you the same protection as the iSkin Fuze case we reviewed earlier this year. The case is quite tight fitting, it doesn’t crush your phone but it makes it really difficult to remove the case.

The case is quite pricey  costing $39.00 CAD/USD. It does seem more expensive compared to those cases that you can buy on stands in the mall worth $20. Even though it’s more expensive than other iPhone cases, it comes with a lot of goodies when you buy it. When you get the case, iSkin provides LCD anti-static cleaning wipes some iSkin stickers, iSkin microfiber cloth, and other informational cards. Click on this link to buy the case, and to check out their other cases.

The design on the case really does make you smile. The texture on the sides feels great. It allows you to have a firm grip on the case. The aluminum backing like I stated before is similar to other Apple products, but it does look nice on different colors. Overall the case is clean, fresh and simple, it still goes on the “just looks side” but still it does its job to the fullest.

Comment your thoughts below about this case. And visit us on FacebookTwitter, and Google+  for the latest tech news, reviews and updates

About Kevin Li

Hi Everyone, I"m Kevin! I owe everything that a boy dreams of :D HAHAHA LOL. I love IPhone and Electronic Devices. I'm a 16 Year old dude that speaks chinese!

6 comments on “The iSkin Aura: Simple, Well Done and Gets the Job Done

  1. I liked my Aura but it is too fragile. I sent it back and we will see if they replace or not…

  2. […] iSkin Claro case is one of iSkin’s latest cases for the iPhone 5, along with the iSkin Aura (check out our review here), iSkin Vibes and the iSkin Solo. This case is their unique clear design to showcase Apple’s […]

  3. […] Vibes. The iSkin Aura has been released for other devices. Click to read our review on the Aura for iPhone 5 & Aura2 for the […]

  4. […] The case retails for $49.99, and you can check it out on iSkin here. As well, check out our reviews for the Aura2 for iPad and Aura for iPhone. […]

  5. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just
    following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet
    again.

  6. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s
    equally educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the
    head. The issue is an issue that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something concerning this.

Want To Discuss? Leave a Comment Below!

