13 Comments

Google Plus

Google Plus…the next social network. And by far, one of the better products Google has released in the years (yes, it’s better than Google Buzz!). Google Plus launched a few months ago to beta users, and now it’s available to public, with millions of accounts being opened every day!

So they have 5 main features of Google Plus. Circles, Hangouts, Instant Upload, Sparks and Huddle.

Circles is a feature, and basically means “friends.” When you press on the circle page on your profile, you’ll see your friend list. But of course, you have to have friends first! So the friend adding is basically like Twitter. You subscribe to a friend, and they subscribe to you. Simple. And you get to verify people who follow you. Another part of circles is that you can create your own circle. Similar to groups on Facebook, you

Example of Circles

create a circle name, and then you can drag your friends into that corresponding circle. Fore example, you could drag all your family members into a family circle. To the right, you’ll see an example of circles I created. Google gives you Friends, Family, Acquaintances, and Following. I added an ICT Circle for my tech people.

Next is Hangouts. It’s basically like Skype, video and voice chatting between friends, BUT you don’t have to pay. You can talk with a circle or your friends. Also, if you’re doing a hangout, on your wall will display, “Your name is hanging out with *the number of people your hanging out with.” So they can join too (one thing I don’t like).

Next is the photos (Instant Upload). Uploading photos is easy in Google Plus. You just drag your photos into your uploader. Click Upload New Photos, and just drag your photos in.

Next is Sparks. A feature that lets you tell people what you’re interested in. Search a topic in your search bar, and click add interest.

Last is Huddle. It’s basically a chat feature, with multiperson capabilities. Google says, “Huddle turns all those different conversations into one simple group chat, so everyone gets on the same page all at once. Your thumbs will thank you.”

Facebook Google Plus

Some similarities to Facebook are the interaction format. In Facebook you see “like, comment, share.” In Plus, you see “+1, comment, share.” Also, the “home” is similar to “news feed” in Facebook.

The good things to Google Plus is privacy. It allows you to post to your circles, to yourself, and make it non public. It supports mobile devices also.

Some bad things are you have to be over 18. So if you already set your Google Profile to an age under 18, you can’t currently use Google Plus. And you cannot change your age in Google. If you’re making a Plus account, make sure your age is over 18.

So that’s Google Plus. Enjoy!

About Jordan Yep

Senior Editor and President of Jordan's Tech Stop. From a young age, he has always been fascinated by technology, and enjoys reporting and checking out the latest in the tech world. Jordan has an IT Essentials certification from Cisco, which he received in 2012. Email Jordan at: jyep@jordanstechstop.com

13 comments on “Google Plus

  1. […] are only some events that happened this year. There was also the launch of Google+, new Facebook changes, the announcement of Windows 8 and may more. You can find articles about […]

  2. Hello colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you desire to say about this post, in my view its in fact
    remarkable in favor of me.

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find
    It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like
    you aided me.

  4. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  5. Hi, I do believe this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may return yet again
    since I saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help
    other people.

  6. Can I simply just say what a relief to find somebody who actually knows what they are talking about on the net.

    You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make
    it important. A lot more people have to read this and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised that you aren’t more popular given that you surely possess
    the gift.

  7. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my
    end or if it’s the blog. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  8. Leonel Messi is naturally another essential
    element for the record breaking success of the last couple of seasons.
    There’s only a single strategy to grow to be a 2000+ rated participant in League of Legends – get far better.
    Then he asked if I could be choked with a deep Judo rear choke, applied with the GI.

  9. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.

    I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if
    you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  10. Hi there, everything is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s actually excellent, keep up writing.

  11. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you’re a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back sometime soon. I want to encourage continue your great
    writing, have a nice weekend!

  12. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a awesome job with
    this. Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Opera.
    Excellent Blog!

  13. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is
    amazing, great written and include approximately all vital
    infos. I would like to look more posts like this .

Want To Discuss? Leave a Comment Below!

